Board of Directors

Led by Bishop Rubin Phillip, SALO’s leadership is made up of a dynamic group of Board members assisted by a Reference Group.

The Right Reverend Rubin Phillip


(b. 1948) is bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Natal and Dean of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa. Continue reading

Sha’ista Kazee

Sha’ista Kazee is an attorney practicing in constitutional and administrative law at Bowman Gilfillan Inc. Continue reading

Richard Melville Smith

Richard Melville Smith is a peace and human security strategist from South Africa. With over twenty-five years of experience his approach to process design and facilitation, mediation, dialogue and transformative peace leadership, is informed by a background in activism, working … Continue reading

Prince Mbekwa

Prince Mbekwa has been a team leader and manager both at Knowledge Tree Inc. and at the Free Software Innovation Unit (University of the Western Cape). Prince has worked at UNESCO as the Assistant Program Specialist. Prince received his education … Continue reading

Prof Chris Landsberg

Prof Chris Landsberg holds a BA Honours from RAU (now UJ); MA from Rhodes University; and M. Phil and D. Phil degrees from Oxford. In 1999-2000, he was a Hamburg Fellow at Stanford University in California. He previously lectured at … Continue reading

Charmaine Williamson

Charmaine Williamson is currently doing a Doctorate in the strategic decision- making processes of Official Development Assistance (ODA) within South Africa and with a view to South Africa’s potential ODA engagements on the continent. She has worked intensively in the … Continue reading

Professor Rob Moore

Professor Rob Moore is Deputy Vice Chancellor (Partnerships and Advancement) at the University of the Witwatersrand (‘Wits’) in Johannesburg. He joined Wits in 2006 as Director of Strategic Planning and, in 2007, he was appointed as Deputy Vice Chancellor (Advancement … Continue reading

Professor Brian Raftopoulos

Professor Brian Raftopoulos is a leading Zimbabwean scholar and activist. Formally an Associate Professor of Development Studies at the University of Zimbabwe, he moved to Cape Town at the end of March 2006 and is currently the Director of Research … Continue reading

Judith Todd

Judith Todd is the SALO representative in Zimbabwe. Briefly jailed and detained by Rhodesia’s Ian Smith regime in 1972, she was then exiled for nearly eight years. She returned to Zimbabwe in 1980 and became director of the Zimbabwe Project, … Continue reading

Lucian Segami

Lucian Segami is a former student activist at UCT and in the Western Cape active in ANC alliance structures. He worked towards the launch of several solidarity movements in South Africa including Western Sahara and Zimbabwe, promoting popular South African … Continue reading

Joan Brickhill

Joan Brickhill was a journalist, broadcaster and political activist in Southern Africa over three decades.  Among others she worked for various African publications, Radio Freedom and the ANC Information Department in Lusaka, the BBC World Service/African Service, and the Zimbabwe … Continue reading

Joyce Sikhakhane-Rankin

Joyce Sikhakhane-Rankin holds a BSc Honours degree from the Open University in the U.K. and has over 40 years of experience as a journalist, playwright and author. She had started her career at The World Newspaper, Drum Magazine, The Sunday … Continue reading

Reynaud Daniels

Reynaud Daniels is an attorney of the High Court. He obtained his BA degree from UCT, his LLB degree from UWC and his LLM degree in International Human Rights Law from Northwestern University (Chicago, IL) with honors. He is a … Continue reading