EU signs Economic Partnership Agreement with Southern African countries

The European Union and six countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) today signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), the first of its kind between the EU and an African region pursuing economic integration. The signature took place in Kasane, Botswana.

The agreement was signed by Commissioner for Trade Cecilia Malmström on behalf of the EU. Commissioner Malmström said: “Trade is a tool to spur economic growth and sustainable development. It’s also an important factor for integrating regions and forming stronger bonds between countries. With the Economic Partnership Agreement that we are signing today, we want to base our trade relations with our partners in the Southern African region on commonly agreed, stable rules. Trade has helped lift millions of people from poverty throughout the years. Thanks to agreements like this one, we are preparing the ground for that process to continue.”

To read the full Press Release, please click here.