SALO board member Bella Matambanadzo shortlisted to participate in this year’s Caine Prize for African Writing workshop


The Caine Prize for African Writing will return to Zimbabwe in its
fifteenth year to hold its annual workshop this month. The inaugural
Caine Prize was awarded to Leila Aboulela in 2000, at the Zimbabwe
International Book Fair in Harare.

Thirteen writers from seven African countries will convene at the
Leopard Rock Hotel for twelve days (21 March – 2 April) to write,
read and discuss work in progress and to learn from two experienced
writers, Nii Parkes and Henrietta Rose-Innes who will act as tutors
and animateurs.

This year´s participants include four 2013 shortlisted writers;
Abubakar Ibrahim (Nigeria), Elnathan John (Nigeria), Chinelo
Okparanta (Nigeria) and Pede Hollist (Sierra Leone) and nine other
promising writers; Martin Egblewogbe (Ghana), Abdul Adan (Somalia),
Clifton Gachagua (Kenya), Nkiacha Atemnkeng (Cameroon) and Barbara
Mhangami-Ruwende, Philani Nyoni, Bella Matambanadzo, Lawrence Hoba
and Bryony Rheam from Zimbabwe.